East West

Highlight Reel

nominated for outstanding modern rock artist 9th annual la music awards

East West was a Christian metal band from Irvine, California, who later re-located to Corona, California. The band takes its name from the Bible verse Psalms 103:12.

While many members were replaced during East West’s timeline, the best-known line-up included Mike Tubbs (Vocals, Guitar), Mike “House” Housen (Vocals), James “JJ” Jenkins (Vocals), Bobby “Vee” Vegura (Drummer, Percussion, Vocals). In 2002, Prior to the band’s 1st US Tour, Housen departed and was replaced by Jon Druse.

Nothing has been heard of East West since the May/June 2003 issue of HM Magazine, in which Mike Tubbs had this to say:

“ We have been writing and taking time off to enjoy the more important things in life, our families. We really spent the three years traveling the world and the States and now it’s time to focus on home. So, we are going to work on writing new songs, re-connecting with our fans and, like I said, our families. ”

This article possibly contains original research. Please improve it by verifying the claims made and adding inline citations. Statements consisting only of original research should be removed. (September 2007)
East West was formed in 1988 in the San Fernando Valley, by Mike Housen (guitar, backing vocals), Eric Kieselhorst (vocals), Stan Barrett(guitar and keyboard and back vocals) and Ralph Lamagna (drums). Bassist David Pryor joined the band in 1989 . The band’s song “Southern Dawn” was in KROQ-FM’s rotation. The band played frequently at the Sunset Strip and opened for well-known bands at the time Mary’s Danish and Warrant. In 1990 Housen moved to orange county and formed “Tears for Jane” ( EuroBeat) with Ken James at vocals. Housen reformed East West in 1991. This version consisted of Housen (vocals, guitar), Dave Barrs (guitar), Bob Vergura (drums) and Dave Detloff (bass).

In 1992, Housen crossed paths with Mike Tubbs, a friendship evolved, and Tubbs eventually joined the band as guitarist. East West was then redefined as a rapcore band with strong melodies, three-part harmonies and heavy extreme metal influences. At this point, the other members were Paul “Boomer” Droste (drums) and Paul “Soth” Nasfell (bass, vocals). Together, they recorded a five-song demo, which was released in 1995. During this period, Housen provided lead vocals.

Ben Dacanay (drums) replaced Droste in 1995 after the band’s first show at the Whiskey (where they released their untitled 5 song EP) and Ted Su (bass) replaced Nasfell in 1996 when Nasfell left the band for family reasons. East West continued to evolve musically, and recorded Rachel’s Silence (released in 1996) and an unreleased studio album in 1997. Shortly after, Dacanay and Su left the group. It was around this time that Housen decided to focus more on guitar and songwriting, while Tubbs became the lead vocalist. The band then re-located to Corona, California. Housen departed East West In 2003.

Band Highlights Included:

East West won a Dove Award in 2002 for Hard Rock Album of the Year with “The Light in Guinevere’s Garden”

Distributed worldwide by Epic/Sony then later WEA /Warner Bros.

East West’s “Song X” is featured in the Extreme Days Movie and Soundtrack.

The band’s music has been used on MTV’s “Making of the Video” show.(For the following artists -Christina Aguilera, Mandy Moore and 2gether)

Has been featured on the USA Network’s show FARMCLUB. The show was aired nationally 3 times.

East West’s music has accompanied Extreme Videos on Fox Sport’s Bluetorch and ESPN

East West has opened for a number of National Acts including Papa Roach, P.O.D., Alien Ant-farm, Switchfoot, Blindside Taproot and more…and has played numerous Festivals around the World.(Some with over 30,000 in attendance)Including the Vans Warped Tour / Los Angeles Coliseum, Denver’s Pepsi Center, Germanys Christmas Rock Night and Headlining Holland’s “Flavo Fest”

East West has played some of the most famous venues in So. California including Universal Studios (Hollywood),