Sal (Hisland)

Music Video

2011 Nominee – Male Vocalist of the Year – 21st Annual LA Music Awards

HISLAND is an unsigned Canadian rock n’ roll band, formed in Kitchener, Ontario in July 2010. They’ve been compared to Deer Tick and Little Joy, with a sound described as “raw and edgy.” Hisland is Andrew Silvestro (vocals, guitar), Rob Corrigan (drums, b/g vocals), Mat Araujo (guitar), and Dave Kaduk (bass, keyboard, b/g vocals).

Their debut record “Muckshack” (EP) was released in September 2010. The first track “The Devil” received immediate attention, being nominated for “Best Rock Song” at the 2010 Hollywood Music in Media Awards, and receiving radio play through various online streams and reputable stations, namely ones in South Africa and Argentina.

Building on the momentum from 2010, Andrew was nominated for “Best Male Vocalist” at the 2011 Los Angeles Music Awards, and Hisland performed in Austin during SXSW 2011 – a feat musicians dream of fulfilling in their first year as a band. With 2012 wrapped up, Hisland has a lot to look back on: they performed at Canadian Music Fest, opened for Gilby Clarke (Gun N’ Roses) at Spring Music Festival, were nominated for “Best Indie Rock” at the 2012 Toronto Independent Music Awards, and played alongside Faber Drive for their “Lost in Paradise” tour in November 2012.

The band name comes from a private island called “Horseshoe Island,” located in The 1000 Islands, Canada. It’s home to where the band goes in the summertime to write and hang with friends. With the release of their new EP “So Long As They Are Wild” in September 2012 featuring 5 new tracks you’ll want to dance to, 2012 has surely set the stage for Hisland in 2013. We’ll just have to see what’s next.