Highlight Reel

Music Video

Nominee – 1996 6th Annual LA Music Awards

L.A. hard core band

Snot is an American hardcore punk band from Santa Barbara, California. Formed in 1995, the band released their debut studio album Get Some with founding vocalist Lynn Strait in 1997 and disbanded after his death in 1998. In 2008, the lineup of guitarists Mike Doling and Sonny Mayo, bassist John Fahnestock and drummer Jamie Miller reunited. In 2009, a new band, Tons, was formed, with Brandon Espinoza as vocalist. As of February 2014, Snot has reformed again.

Formation, Get Some and death of Lynn Strait (1995–1998)
The band was formed by singer Lynn Strait, the former bassist of a local punk band, Lethal Dose, and guitarist Mike Doling, formerly of Kronix. After building a strong following with performances in Los Angeles, Snot signed with Geffen Records, and began work on their debut album, Get Some, released on May 27, 1997. Although the album received positive critical notice, sales were disappointing.

The band performed on the 1998 Ozzfest tour. On July 9, 1998, Strait was arrested in Mansfield, Massachusetts, for indecent exposure after emerging nude from the oversized toilet prop used by Limp Bizkit in their performances. The band began work on their second album. On December 11, 1998, Strait died in a car accident when a truck struck his car, killing him and his boxer, Dobbs. The band disbanded following Strait’s death, with Doling stating, “We can’t go on without Lynn. It’s just bullshit when bands do that.”

Post-death (1999–2007)
Because Strait had not recorded vocals for the album, it was decided that the album’s vocal tracks would be completed by friends of Strait as a tribute. Strait Up, released on November 7, 2000, featured appearances by the lead vocalists of System of a Down, Korn, Hed PE, Soulfly, Incubus, Sevendust, Limp Bizkit, Coal Chamber, Slipknot and Sugar Ray, among others. It peaked at number 56 on the Billboard 200.

A live album, Alive!, was released on July 30, 2002. It peaked at number 12 on the Billboard Heatseekers chart. On April 5, 2007, the band reunited for a performance in Anaheim, California, with vocals performed by Invitro singer Jeff Weber.

First reunion, Tons and breakup (2008–2013)
In 2008, the band reformed, with former Divine Heresy singer Tommy “Vext” Cummings on vocals. Tommy Cummings and Sonny Mayo left the band, and a new band, “Tons”, was formed in 2009 with a new vocalist. They recorded three new songs titled “Ability & Control”, “1000 Ways of Pain” and “Fan the Flames” before members of the group moved on to new projects. U.S. for a tour.

In 2012, recruiting Hed PE vocalist Jared Gomes, Snot toured Australia in 2012. Jaime Miller has stated at recent shows playing for Orgy there are plans to bring this line-up to the States. According to Jared Gomes on tour with Hed PE in 2013, Mikey Doling reportedly had a child and plans for the U.S. leg of the tour were put on indefinite hiatus.

Second reunion (2014–present)
On February 11, 2014, Snot reunited again at the Whisky a Go Go in Hollywood. This second reunion line-up once again features Vext, Mayo, Doling, Fahnestock & Miller. They went on to play 3 more shows in the Southern California area before once again going quiet, although they poked at the possibility of another future U.S. tour. In August it was announced that Snot would be hitting the road once again, starting November 28 & going through December 22nd all throughout the U.S.. An international tour is coming in January/February. However, in October, vocalist Tommy Vext announced he had left the band to form his new band, Westfield Massacre, & that Snot already had a replacement vocalist (Carl Bensley) in place. For their upcoming European dates, Mike Smith will fill in for Sonny Mayo, who will be unable to tour due to business commitments. Mayo’s last performance with Snot was January 20, 2015, as the surprise act before Wayne Static’s former bandmates at the Wayne Static Memorial Show at the Whisky A Go-Go.

Snot’s music style contains elements of punk rock, heavy metal and funk.

They are described as a hardcore punk band in Joel McIver’s book Slipknot Unmasked, and as a punk band in NME  and in New Wave of American Heavy Metal by Garry Sharpe-Young. and Loudwire. Their sound was associated with the funk metal genre by Hollywood Music Magazine, The Phoenix New Times and Loudwire They have been described as nu metal in Tommaso Iannini’s book Nu metal, in Joel McIver’s book Nu Metal: The Next Generation of Rock & Punk, in Tommy Udo’s Brave Nu World  and in The Guardian.

Current lineup
Carl Bensley – vocals (2014–present)
Mike Doling — guitars (1995–1998, 2008–2011, 2014-present)
Sonny Mayo — guitars (1995–1998, 2008–2009, 2014-present)
John Fahnestock — bass (1995–1998, 2008–2011, 2014-present)
Jamie Miller — drums (1996–1998, 2008–2011, 2014-present)
Former members
Lynn Strait — vocals (1995–1998; died 1998)
James Fed Carrol — drums (1995-1996)
Shannon Larkin — drums (1998)
Mike Smith — guitars (1998)
Touring Members
Mike Smith — guitars (2015 – Present)
Tommy Vext — vocals (2008–2009, 2014)
Brandon Espinoza — vocals (2009–2010)
Jahred Gomes – vocals (2012)
Get Some (1997)
Strait Up (2000)
Alive! (2002)